The theaters below show films in their original language; click on the links for showtimes and ticket information.
Interviews with the stars, general film articles, and reports on press conferences and film festivals.
Subscribe to the free KinoCritics monthly email newsletter here.

Congratulations to the Winners
by the KinoCritics

Golden Bear and Ecumenical Jury Prize and Amnesty International Prize for best film to: Gianfranco Rosi for Fuocoammare (Fire at Sea) This is the first time a documentary has won the Berlinale Golden Bear.

Silver Bear Grand Jury Prize and FIPRESCI (International Film Critics) Prize to: Danis Tanovi? for Smrt u Sarajevu (Death in Sarajevo)

Silver Bear Alfred Bauer Prize for new perspectives: to Lav Diaz for Hele Sa Hiwagang Hapis (A Lullaby to the Sorrowful Mystery

Silver Bear for best director: to Mia Hansen-Løve for L’avenir (Things to Come)

Silver Bear for best actress to Trine Dyrholm in Kollektivet (The Commune)

Silver Bear for best actor to Majd Mastoura in Inhebbek Hedi (Hedi)

Silver Bear for best script to Tomasz Wasilewski for Zjednoczone stany milosci (United States of Love)

Silver Bear for outstanding artistic accomplishment (camera) to Mark Lee Ping-Bing for Chang Jiang Tu (Crosscurrent)

Best First Film to Mohamed Ben Attia for Inhebbek Hedi (Hedi)

Golden Bear for best short film to Leonor Teles for Balada de um Batráquio (Batrachian’s Ballad) This Portuguese director is the youngest film director to receive a Golden Bear. Her film takes on personal meaning when she hears that placing ceramic frogs at doorways at commercial premises is meant to ward-off gypsies. Since she is coming from a gypsy background she decided she needs to take a close look at this Portuguese tradition and wanted people to see how effective superstitious are used as a symbol of discrimination.

Silver Bear for best short film to Mahdi Fleifel for A Man Returned

FIPRESCI (International Film Critics) Prize in the Panorama Category to Tobias Nölle for Aloys

FIPRESCI (International Film Critics) Prize in the Forum Category to Rama Thiaw for The Revolution Won’t be Televised

Teddy Award for best film to Händl Klaus for Kater (Tomcat)

Teddy Award for best documentary film to Sara Jordenö for Kiki

Caligari Prize to Tamer El Said for Akher ayam el madina (n the Last Days of the City)

Peace Prize to Maher Abi Samra for Makhdoumin (A Maid for Each)

Audience Prize in the Panorama section to: Udi Aloni for Junction 48

Audience Prize in the Panorama documentary section to: Barak Heymann and Tomer Heymann for Who’s Gonna Love Me Now