The theaters below show films in their original language; click on the links for showtimes and ticket information.
Interviews with the stars, general film articles, and reports on press conferences and film festivals.
Subscribe to the free KinoCritics monthly email newsletter here.

Festival Prizes 2008
by Becky Tan

Although the Filmfest Hamburg is a non-competitive festival, special recognition is given in the following categories.

Douglas Sirk Prize for this director’s special life contribution to film: Atom Egoyan from Canada.

TV Producers Prize of Euro 30,000: Machen wir’s auf Finnisch. Presented by Hamburg’s Senator for Culture, Sport and Media, Prof. Dr. Karin von WElck

Art Cinema Award of Euro 5000: 35 Rum/35Rhum which  was filmed last year in Paris and Lübeck. Runner up was Adoration.

Hamburg Film Critics Prize: Frozen River. Critics on the Jury came from Der Spiegel, Stern, Hamburger Abendblatt and NDR 90,3.

Montblac Script Prize of Euro 10,000: It’s Hard to be Nice

Die Elfe New Directors Prize of Euro 5000: Johnny Mad Dog,  director Jean-Stéphane Sauvaire.

Audience Prize of Euro 5000: Willkommen bei den Sch’tis.

Micromovie Award (See page   )

The Michel Children’s Festival awards were:
Director’s Prize of Euro 5000 to Cathy Randall for Hey Hey hier Esther Blueburger.
Runners-up were Francis Leclerc for Home Run and Kjell-Ake Andersson for Schmetterlinge.

Jetix Movie Award Audience Prize: Schmetterlinge

Douglas Sirk was born Hans Detlef Sierck 1897 in Hamburg of Danish parents. His career started in Hamburg theatres but he fled to Hollywood in 1937. He worked with stars such as Barbara Stanwyck, Jane Wyman, Rock Hudson and Sandra Dee. His original reputation as a B-movie man has steadily changed and these days he is considered to one director who has, over time, been most influential on young colleagues. Some other recipients of the Douglas Sirk prize in Hamburg have been: Jodie Foster, Kate Blanchett and David Cronenberg.